Skip to main content

Long Island Memories

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Volume
(222 results)



Display: 50

    • LIGHTS Club House

    • LIGHTS Club - Freeport (N.Y.); Clubhouses;
    • Volume 2, Page 85-A [1955 description]: "1916. This expensive club house was located at the foot of Branch Avenue and burned about 1938. Its membership was limited to members of the theatrical profession and got its name from the first letters...
    • Freeport Club Baseball Team 1915.

    • Baseball; Baseball players;
    • Volume 2, Page 86-A [1955 description]: Back row: Russell Randall, Charles Hart, William Finch, Mgr., Edward B. Thompson, Treas., James Sutphin, Richard Remsen. Middle row: Harry Beebe, Charles Lewis, (Dr. Lewis' Clinton Story, (first Freeport...
    • Transportation in 1840

    • Stagecoaches
    • Volume 1, Page 2 [1955 description]: "In the early days, before railroads were on Long Island, the stagecoach was the ONLY means of public transportation. It brought the mail to the stagecoach stop on Babylon Turnpike, a few hundred feet south of...
    • Freeport's First Public School

    • Schools; School buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 3 [1955 description]: "Built in 1820, it stood on South Main Street, where Church Street intersects, where 'the Cannon" now stands. In 1821 the school session lasted for six months, there were 37 pupils and the teacher was paid...
    • Freeport's Second Public School

    • Schools; School buildings
    • Volume 1, Page 4 [1955 description]: "Built in 1852 and enlarged in 1858, it stood on the west side of South Main Street about where #88 South Main Street is in 1955. The building partially shown at the left was the second Methodist Church. (Mr....
    • Private School

    • Schools; School buildings; Private schools;
    • Volume 1, Page 5 [1955 description]: "For children under 10 years of age was build about 1845. It stands in 1955 on the east side of South Main Street slightly north of where Smith Street intersects (immediately next to brick business buildings). ...
    • Freeport Academy, A Private School

    • Schools; School buildings; Private schools;
    • Volume 1, Page 6 [1955 description]: "For pupils over 10 years of age, used for 1870 to 1875. The building was on the north side of Little Pine Street, between Church Street and Mains St., and the school occupied the second floor. On the south,...
    • Freeport's Third Public School

    • Schools; School buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 7 [1955 description]: "Built in 1875 and added to in 1888, this school was located on the north side of Pine Street, just west of South Grove Street. This picture was taken shortly before it was destroyed by fire on January 8th,...
    • Grove Street School Completed

    • Schools; School buildings; Grove Street School - Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Volume 1, Page 9 [1955 description]: "The building was competed in 1905 and was added to several times. This view was taken from the corner of Pine Street. Attention is directed to the oil-burning street lamp on the corner. Those lamps, on posts...
    • Freeport High School Faculty, 1903

    • Schools; Teachers; Freeport High School - Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Volume 1, Page 10A [1955 description]: "Left to Right, standing: Cassie Ostrander, Bertha Leach, Louise Van Riper, Augie Smith, L. Estes, Carolyn Atkinson. Seated: Rita Crane, Mary Miller, C.W. Oley, Principal, F.E. Huested. Picture taken on the...
    • Freeport's First Church

    • Methodist churches; Methodist church buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 13 [1955 description]: "Originally a store, the building was bought by the [Methodist] congregation in 1833 and used by them until about 1860. It was known as the 'Sand Hill Church' and stood on the west side of Babylon Turnpike,...
    • Methodist's Third Church

    • Methodist churches; Methodist church buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 15 [1955 description]: "Built in 1891, on the north side of Pine Street, at a cost of $20,000. It has been added to several times. This picture shows another of the oil street lamps, indicated by the arrow. (Mr. C. Milton...
    • Episcopal Church of the Transfiguration

    • Episcopal churches; Episcopal church buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 17 [1955 description]: "Built in 1894, on the east side of South Long Beach Avenue, South of Pine Street. When the new church was recently completed at the corner of Long Beach Avenue and Pine Street the structure shown here was...
    • First Baptist Church

    • Baptist churches; Baptist church buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 19 [1955 description]: "Built in 1904, on the west side of South Grove Street, south of Pine St., and used until 1928 when the handsome new church was built at the corner of Pine Street and South Long Beach Avenue. This building is...
    • Present Church of Our Holy Redeemer, Roman Catholic

    • Catholic churches; Catholic church buildings; Our Holy Redeemer Church--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Volume 1, Page 20 [1955 description]: Completed in 1911, at the corner of South Ocean Avenue and Pine Street. The original church [page 18] was then moved to Roosevelt, where it is still in use. (Mr. John T. Cotter, Jr.)"
    • First Church, Christian Scientists

    • Christian Science churches; Christian Science buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 21 [1955 description]: "Located at the corner of Merrick Road and Elm Place, was originally used at the World Fair, Flushing Meadows. When the Fair ended the Freeport congregation purchased the building, had it cut into sections and...
    • Fire Department Parade, July 1885

    • Fire fighters; Parades and processions;
    • Volume 1, Page 22 [1955 description]: "This view is of the south-west corner of Merrick Road and Main Street. A piece of fire apparatus is partly shown at the lower right hand corner of the picture. (Mr. C. Milton Foreman)"
    • Excelsior Hook and Ladder Company

    • Fire stations; Fire fighters; Fire engines and equipment;
    • Volume 1, Page 22 [1955 description]: "Organized in 1874. The beautiful white horses were not always a part of its equipment, for in the early years the apparatus was pulled by men and boys by means of ropes attached to the front, and beneath the...
    • Ever Ready Hose No. 1 On Parade

    • Fire stations; Fire fighters; Fire engines and equipment; Parades and processions;
    • Volume 1, Page 25A [1955 description]: "This company was organized in 1893 while the waterworks system was in course of construction. Its handsome hose reel can be seen in the center background."
    • Vigilant Hose #2 on Parade

    • Fire stations; Fire fighters; Fire engines and equipment;
    • Volume 1, Page 25 [1955 description]: "This company of volunteers was organized in 1894, one year after the completion of the village waterworks system. The company was proud of its hose reel which was pulled by ropes to the scene of a fire."
    • Hose No. 5's First Apparatus

    • Fire stations; Fire engines and equipment;
    • Volume 1, Page 27 [1955 description]: "1912. Originally a member of the Roosevelt Fire Department, known as Russell Hose ('Brush Rabbits') became a member of the Freeport Department when that area was annexed to Freeport. At the time this picture...
    • [Freeport Fire Department]

    • Fire stations; Fire engines and equipment; Fire fighters;
    • Volume 1, Page 28 [1955 description]: "About 1915. Here the Department is lined up on Olive Boulevard (now Sunrise Highway) for inspection by the Village President and the Board of Trustees."
    • Fire Chief's First Automobile

    • Fire stations; Fire fighters; Fire engines and equipment;
    • Volume 1, Page 29 [1955 description]: "About 1915. This handsome Chevrolet was the pride of the Department. Not the oil lantern hanging on the side of the car."
    • Beginning of Freeport's Water System

    • Pumping stations; Freeport Water Department--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Volume 1, Page 30 [1955 description]: "Built in 1894, chiefly to supply fire protection, on a dirt road later known as Olive Boulevard, now Sunrise Highway. Note the tall grass in front of the building. (Mr. Herbert Golding)"
    • Rear View of the Building

    • Pumping stations; Freeport Water Department--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Volume 1, Page 31 [1955 description]: "Rear view of the building as viewed from a Long Island Railroad train. Power was had from steam engines, burning coal. The water tower, or tank, was about 15 feet in diameter and about 100 feet high. (Mr....
    • Plant Grows

    • Pumping stations; Freeport Water Department--Freeport (N.Y.); Freeport Electric Department--Freeport (N.Y.); Public utility companies;
    • Volume 1, Page 32 [1955 description]: "In 1897 electric generators were added and a year later the streets were lighted with electricity, necessitating enlarging the plant. (Mr. Stephen L. Pearsall)"
    • And it Grows and Grows

    • Pumping stations; Public utility companies; Freeport Water Department--Freeport (N.Y.); Freeport Electric Department--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Volume 1, Page 33 [1955 description]: "As the population increased the demand for water and lights grew and the Plant had to be again enlarged. (Mr. Stephen L. Pearsall)"
    • Interior View of the Plant

    • Freeport Electric Department--Freeport (N.Y.); Public utility companies;
    • Volume 1, Page 35 [1955 description]: "An Interior View of the Plant showing the belt-driven engines. Note the side of the 'fly wheels' compared to a man's height. (Mr. Stephen L. Pearsall)"
    • Growth Brings Destruction

    • Freeport Water Department--Freeport (N.Y.); Water towers; Public utility companies; Pumping stations;
    • Volume 1, Page 36 [1955 description]: "In 1929 the growth of the village, with its greatly increased demands upon the plant, found the old water tank inadequate. This view shows the water tower in process of demolition. (Stephen L. Pearsall)"
    • New and Larger Water Tank is Begun

    • Freeport Water Department--Freeport (N.Y.); Water towers; Public utility companies; Pumping stations;
    • Volume 1, Page 37 [1955 description]:"Work starts on the erection of a new million-gallon 'bowl' type of water tank. (Stephen L. Pearsall)"
    • New Water Tank Completed

    • Freeport Water Department--Freeport (N.Y.); Water towers; Public utility companies; Pumping stations;
    • Volume 1, Page 38 [1955 description]: "In 1930 the new tank was completed an in use. (Stephen L. Pearsall)"
    • New Engines Replace Old

    • Freeport Electric Department--Freeport (N.Y.); Public utility companies; Power plants;
    • Volume 1, Page 39 [1955 description]: "An interior view of the Power Plant showing diesel engines which had replaced the old coal-burning boilers. It is believed that the Freeport Diesel Plant is the largest municipally - owned plant in the United...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK