Skip to main content

Long Island Memories

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: Company--History
(89 results)



Display: 50

    • Camp Mills

    • Camp Mills (N.Y.); Long Island Railroad Company--History; Military camps--New York--Camp Mills--History--20th century; United States. Army--Military life--History--20th century; United States--History--World War I, 1914-1918
    • View of the Hempstead Long Island Rail Road Station.
    • La Salle Postcard Packet

    • La Salle Military Academy
      Military education - New York (State) - Oakdale
      Oakdale (N.Y.) - History
    • Packet of twenty postcards of the buildings, grounds, and cadets of the La Salle Military Academy (L.S.M.A.) in Oakdale, Long Island.
    • Vigilant Hose #2 on Parade

    • Fire stations; Fire fighters; Fire engines and equipment;
    • Volume 1, Page 25 [1955 description]: "This company of volunteers was organized in 1894, one year after the completion of the village waterworks system. The company was proud of its hose reel which was pulled by ropes to the scene of a fire."
    • [Mott Brother's Monument Re-Dedication, 1927]

    • Monuments and memorials; Dedications; Mott Brothers
    • Volume 3, Page 116a [1955 description]: "Monument to Joseph [and Dandridge] Mott, Civil War veteran[s], relocated in 1927 [at] Brooklyn Avenue Park, near Grove Street, and unveiled with ceremonies conducted by Grand Army veterans and military from...
    • Mr. Success

    • William Levitt
    • William Levitt in their Lake Success Company Headquarters. Throughout the history of Levittown, Levitt raised both positive and negative emotions. Time magazine categorized him as “a cocky, rambunctious hustler.” He was also referred to as “The...
    • Excelsior Hook and Ladder Company

    • Fire stations; Fire fighters; Fire engines and equipment;
    • Volume 1, Page 22 [1955 description]: "Organized in 1874. The beautiful white horses were not always a part of its equipment, for in the early years the apparatus was pulled by men and boys by means of ropes attached to the front, and beneath the...
    • [North west Freeport]

    • Houses; Streets; Buildings; Freeport (N.Y.)--History
    • Black and white photograph looking south west. The Long Island Rail Road is at the top of the picture with the Artificial Stone Company just north of it. Randall Avenue is to the right and it intersects with North Long Beach Avenue as well as...
    • Freeport, N.Y.

    • Freeport (N.Y.)--History; Buildings
    • Black and white aerial photograph of Freeport looking north from south of Ray Street to the north. Streets from east to west are South Ocean, Miller, Nassau, South Long Beach and Roosevelt Avenues. In the middle of the photograph is the Archer...
    • Freeport Water Front Woodcleft

    • Freeport (N.Y.)--Real estate; Houses; Randall, John J.
    • Real estate prospectus from the John J. Randall Company featuring pictures of bungalows, cottages and houses at Freeport, Long Island. The brochure includes a picture of John J. Randall, his home Woodbine and a history of Freeport and Woodcleft....
    • Building Begins Its Journey

    • Bank buildings; Banks; First National Bank--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Volume 3, Page 123 [1955 description]: "Building begins its journey." The two story Fist National Bank was moved so a six story building could be erected in its place. According to signs visible in the photograph the building was moved by B.C....
    • Freeport Village Office, 1911

    • City and town halls; Merrick Road - Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Volume 3, Page 108 [1955 description]: "Freeport Village Office, 1911 at #46 West Merrick Road. Sue to rapid growth of the Village and the demands upon the water and light plants, a much larger office was needed. The office here, later expanded,...
    • Freeport, N.Y.

    • Freeport (N.Y.)--History; Buildings
    • Black and white aerial photograph looking north from Merrick Road to Brooklyn Avenue. Streets from east to west include South Bergen Place and South Long Beach Avenue. Buildings include the back of the Elks Club, First National Savings Bank,...
    • St. John's Church.  Oakdale, L.I.

    • Church buildings -- New York (State) -- Oakdale
      Oakdale (N.Y.) -- Buildings, structures, etc.
      Oakdale (N.Y.) -- History
    • St. John's Episcopal Church on the north side of Montauk Highway. Built in 1765. Postmark and address on back.
      Postmark: "Oakdale Station, N.Y. 1905, Aug 7, 9 AM"
      Addressee: "Mrs. Lester G. Douglas, West Hurley, Ulster Co., N.Y."
    • Ever Ready Hose No. 1 On Parade

    • Fire stations; Fire fighters; Fire engines and equipment; Parades and processions;
    • Volume 1, Page 25A [1955 description]: "This company was organized in 1893 while the waterworks system was in course of construction. Its handsome hose reel can be seen in the center background."
    • A History of the East Meadow Public Library

    • East Meadow Public Library (East Meadow, N.Y.) – History; Public Libraries – New York (State) – East Meadow – History; East Meadow (N.Y.) – History; East Meadow (N.Y.) -- Biography
    • Digital version of 32 p. booklet originally published by East Meadow Public Library, East Meadow, 1995. Includes black and white photographs; Contents: The building: Stores. New building. Expansion. The library of the future. – The library...
    • [Yacht Basin]

    • Hempstead Lake State Park--West Hempstead (N.Y.); Parks--West Hempstead (N.Y.)
    • Colorized postcard of model yacht basin at Hempstead Lake State Park. Front of postcard states "Model Yacht Basin. Hempstead Lake State Park. Long Island, N.Y." Bottom right corner has number 16663. Front of postcard shows people gathered around...
    • [Bridal Path]

    • Hempstead Lake State Park--West Hempstead (N.Y.); Parks--West Hempstead (N.Y.)
    • Colorized postcard of Hempstead Lake State Park. Front of postcard shows three riders on horseback on bridal path with lake in the background. Front of postcard states "Bridal Path. Hempstead Lake State Park. Long Island, NY." Lower left corner has...
    • Spring Dance

    • Dance parties; Youth organizations; Veterans of Foreign Wars Hall
    • Souvenir journal of the Spring Dance sponsored by the A & B Youth Group of the Utopia Community Center of Roosevelt, NY. The event took place on Monday, April 7, 1958, at the V.F.W. Hall located at 404 North Main Street, in Freeport. The journal...
    • [Exterior of West Hempstead National Bank]

    • Banks--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Hempstead Avenue--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Bedell, Stephen--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Businesses-West Hempstead, N.Y.
    • Black and white photo of exterior of West Hempstead National Bank located on Hempstead Avenue and Harborough Road. Two vehicles are parked in front of bank. It was owned by Stephen Bedell who also owned the Nassau Mutual Fuel Company.
    • [St Anne's Health Resort]

    • Health Resort--West Hempstead (N.Y.); Hempstead Avenue--West Hempstead (N.Y.)
    • Colorized post card of St. Anne's Health Resort. Front of card states "St. Anne's Health Resort 318 Hempstead Avenue, West Hempstead, N.Y. Tel 1288." Back of card is postmarked Hempstead, N.Y. 1939. One cent stamp is on back of card. Addresse and...
    • [Nassau Mutual Fuel Company]

    • Fuel Company--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Bedell, Stephen--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Hempstead Avenue--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Harborough Road--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Businesses-West Hempstead, N.Y.
    • Black and white aerial photo of the Nassau Mutual Fuel Company located on Hempstead Avenue and Harborough Road. West Hempstead train station can be seen in the top center of the photo and the West Hempstead National Bank can be seen just north of...
    • [West Hempstead Fire Department]

    • Fire Department--West Hempstead (N.Y.)
    • Black and white photo of the 1930 addition to the West Hempstead Fire House. After the "burning of the mortgage" in 1928, the name was changed from Victory Chemical Engine and Hose Company #1 to West Hempstead Fire Department. Vehicles in front of...
    • [Duryea Farm House]

    • ; Chestnut Street--West Hempstead (N.Y.); Hempstead Avenue--West Hempstead (N.Y.)
    • Photo of Edwin C. Duryea farm house, located at the corner of Chestnut Street and Hempstead Avenue. Farms stretched out behind it on the triangle that Chestnut Street, Woodfield Road and Hempstead Avenue create. Duryea sold the property in 1926 to...
    • [Nassau Mutual Fuel Company Trucks]

    • Fuel Company--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Hempstead Avenue--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Bedell, Stephen--West Hempstead, N.Y.; Businesses--West Hempstead, N.Y.
    • Black and white photo of delivery trucks at the Nassau Mutual Fuel Company. Sign above coal bins states "Nassau Mutual Fuel Company, Tel. Hempstead 2510." It was located Hempstead Avenue and Harborough Road near the Long Island Rail Road station...
    • [First Fire Truck]

    • Fire Department--West Hempstead (N.Y.)
    • Black and white photo of an unidentified man behind the wheel of the first fire truck of West Hempstead in 1925. The truck is in front of West Hempstead's first fire department called Victory Chemical Engine and Hose Company #1. Name of the fire...
    • Lewis Oil Tugboat and Barge, ca. 1947

    • Tugboats; Manhasset Bay (N.Y.); Port Washington (N.Y.)--Climate; Boats and boating; Waterways--Port Washington (N.Y.);
    • Lewis Oil Tugboat #8 and barge in ice on Manhasset Bay, ca. 1947. Lewis Oil Company was located on Shore Road in the village of Port Washington North until the company was bought out by Champion Energy in 2000.
    • [Mill Neck Manor]

    • Schools--Mill Neck (N.Y.); Schools--Glen Head (N.Y.); Schools--Glenwood Landing (N.Y.);
    • Color postcard showing the grounds of the Mill Neck Manor Lutheran School for the Deaf, where the North Shore School District operated a natural history day camp for students in some elementary school grades during the summer in the 1960s.
    • Purdy Boat Company Shop, ca. 1926

    • Boats and boating; Purdy Boat Company--Port Washington (N.Y.); Aeronautics, Commercial--Buildings; Seaplanes; Schneider Cup Seaplane Race;
    • As viewed from just offshore in Manhasset Bay, the wood-frame building shown had originally belonged to the American Transoceanic Company, a subsidiary of Curtiss Airplane Works. Seaplane in foreground is a Schneider Cup racer.

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK