Skip to main content

Long Island Memories

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1904
(66 results)



Display: 50

    • [Freeport High School Football Team 1904]

    • Freeport High School--Freeport (N.Y.); Football--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Black and white photograph of the 1904 Freeport High School Football team. Top row: Roy Leon Smith, Principal - Harold Cook - R.L.B., Robert Bliss - F.B., Howard Osterhout - L.H.B., Louis H. Carris, Subt. Middle row: Stephen Story - Subt., Robert...
    • [FHS Band 1904]

    • Band uniforms; Grove Street School--Freeport (N.Y.); Musical instruments
    • Black and white photograph of 15 members of the Freeport High School band, standing with their instruments on the steps of the Grove Street School. On the back of the photograph is written: "Here then, is the beginning of the Musical Program at...
    • Chandler & Held March

    • Sheet music; Piano music; Jingles (Advertising songs);
    • Piano music for a jingle written in the key of C for the Chandler & Held Piano Co. An advertisement for various brands of pianos available at company is printed on back cover.
    • On the farm in old Missouri

    • Piano music; Farm life;
    • Sheet music entitled "On the farm in old Missouri" by Verne C. Armstrong. Music is written in the key of A flat. A sketch of a farm house and a young lady holding a hat is depicted on the front cover. Advertisement for additional sheet music...
    • Yankee Doodle Boy, The

    • Patriotic plays, American;
    • Sheet music entitled "The Yankee Doodle Boy" from the musical play called 'Little Johnny Jones' by George M. Cohan, a member of the Freeport LIGHTS club. Music is written in the key of F flat. The front cover has a sketch of a man in a...
    • Freeport Red Devils

    • Freeport High School--Freeport (N.Y.); Baseball
    • Black and white photograph of the 1904 Freeport High School baseball team, the first to represent FHS in organized athletics. Top row: Judge Johnson, Joe Nolan, Doc Colyer, Harold Williams, Owen Humphrey, William Smith. 2nd row: Dr. Leslie Brown,...
    • Freeport Woodclift Inn New York

    • Woodcleft Inn--Freeport (N.Y.); Hotels
    • Black and white postcard of Woodclift (Woodcleft) Inn, which is a three story building with a wraparound porch and two large balconies. There is a red, white and blue shield on the upper right hand corner. Message reads: Dear Alice, Thank you for...
    • Fair for the Nassau Hospital

    • Hospitals - New York (State) - Roslyn; Mackay, Clarence H.; Advertising cards - New York (State) - Roslyn
    • Advertisement for fair to be held at the Clarence H. Mackay Estate, Harbor Hill, 1904.
    • 3 Musical Keltons

    • Vaudeville; Actors; Men; Women; Children
    • Black and white photograph of the 3 Musical Keltons who did a high class musical sketch. Baby Kelton is at the top. Written on the picture is Comps from the 3 Musical Keltons and Vancouver B.C 4-22-04.
    • Montauk Railroad Station

    • Railroad Stations--New York (State)--Montauk
    • Postcard view of the Long Island Railroad Montauk station, circa. 1904. The station was built in 1895 when the railroad line to Montauk opened. A kerosene lamp is seen on the platform. Also visible is the wire for the telegraph line.
    • Excursion Grove. Valley Grove, Northport, L.I. Controlled by the Iron Steamboat Co.

    • Eaton’s Neck (N.Y.); Picnic grounds -- New York (State) -- Eaton’s Neck; Sports & recreation facilities -- New York (State) -- Eaton’s Neck; People -- New York (State) – Eaton’s Neck; Trails and paths -- New York (State) -- Eaton’s Neck;
    • Ben Mitchell, owner of the Valley Grove picnic and amusement facility on Eaton’s Neck, stands to the left of a buggy trail on the property. A driver with a horse, buggy, and passengers rides down the trail while people pose nearby. Mitchell ran the...
    • Parade, Hempstead (Village) N.Y.

    • Hempstead (Village) N.Y.; Civil War veterans; Main Street; Front Street
    • Civil War veterans on way to Greenfield Cemetery to honor their dead. Looking north along Main Street from Front Street. Parade proceeding south on Main Street. Spectators line sidewalks.
    • Bayville Bridge Bayville, L.I.

    • Bridges; Bayville (N.Y.);
    • Black & White photograph of the second Bayville Bridge, looking north. The first bridge was built in 1898, the second bridge was built in 1904, the third bridge in 1922, and in 1938, the fourth bridge. In 1991, the bridge was completely...
    • Parades, Hempstead (Village) N.Y.

    • Hempstead (Village) N.Y.; Front Street; business enterprises; Main Street;
    • Firemen's Tournament parade headed east on Front Street, at corner of Main Street. Spectators line both side of street. Building on Main Street festooned with bunting. Horse-drawn carriages on Main Street. Marching firemen have #1 on front of...
    • New York Yacht Club Glen Cove

    • Club Houses - New York(State) -Glen Cove
    • New York Yacht Station No. 10 Gothic Revival Building Club house of New York Yacht Club. Built in 1844 in Hoboken New Jersey moved to Staten Island then to Glen Cove in 1904 by the Steamboat Landing. It was then moved to the base of McLaughlin...
    • Brentwood Rail Road Station

    • Brentwood, NY - Pictorial Works
    • The railroad moved out of Thompson Station in 1869, and it was then relocated in the center of Brentwood. Local residents donated the land and money for a new frame depot. George E. Gilquist was the first Station Agent. The station remained in...
    • [Merrick Road]

    • Merrick Road - Freeport (N.Y.); Streets;
    • Black and white diamond shaped postcard of Merrick Road. Postmark: "Freeport, N.Y., December 22, 1904, 5 p.m." Addressee and Address: "Mrs. Margaret B. Wheeler, Baldwins, Long Island, N.Y." Message: "A Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, Amy M....
    • [Augustus M. Herring House]

    • Houses; Herring, Augustus, 1867-1926; Aeronautics--History
    • Black and white photograph of the home of Augustus M. Herring located at 309 South Main Street. He acquired the property around 1904 and is believed to have been the owner when he died. He was involved in aviation in its beginnings.
    • Brentwood Railroad Station

    • Pen Drawing; Brentwood (N.Y.)--Buildings
    • The Brentwood Railroad Station was built on First Avenue in 1904 and remained in service for 85 years. This landmard building was saved through the efforts of the Brentwood Civic Association and is now a restaurant.
    • Northeast Corner of Merrick Road and Main Street

    • Merrick Road - Freeport (N.Y.); Stores and shops;
    • Volume 2, Page 67 [1955 description]: "This shows that corner as it was in 1904. (Mr. C. Milton Foreman)" According to former Village Historian DeLorme in A Pictorial History of Early Freeport, New York, (1955, page 125) many of these building...
    • Diary of Captain Daniel Roe, 1806-1808

    • Books; Diaries; Manners & customs; Social life; Travel; Long Island; New York
    • Original diary, 1806-8 / kept by Captain Daniel Roe, Brookhaven, N.Y. Each manuscript page is followed by a transcription from "The Diary of Captain Daniel Roe" (1904). The original manuscript is short pages 63-66. The transcription for the four...
    • Stations, Garden City RR station

    • Stations; Garden City RR station; Garden City Estate office
    • Garden City RR station facing NE showing semaphore in front of station and Garden City Estate office in left background. Single track in foreground. Undivided back with hand-divide, note, address and 1-cent stamp postmarked (unclear), NY
    • Blizzard Club

    • Blizzard Club; African Americans; Men
    • Black and white photograph of a large group of men wearing aprons and sitting in front of barrels with napkins on them. Most of them are holding mugs. A three piece band of African Americans is sitting in the middle with a mandolin and a guitar. ...
    • [Gilbert Family in a Carriage]

    • Horses; Gilbert family; Carriages and carts
    • Black and white photograph of the Gilbert family in a horse drawn carriage on a ride to the Freeport Bay Estates circa 1904. The horse's name is Dandy. Godfrey Sr. and Annie are in the front seat and the children, Marion and Gilbert Jr. in the...
    • Original St. Agnes Church

    • St. Agnes; Church; Quealy Place; Quealy
    • The original St. Agnes Church built on what is now Quealy Place; the street was named after the beloved fourth pastor, Father Peter Quealy. The cornerstone was laid in 1904 and the building was completed and dedicated on December 19, 1905....
    • First Baptist Church

    • Baptist churches; Baptist church buildings;
    • Volume 1, Page 19 [1955 description]: "Built in 1904, on the west side of South Grove Street, south of Pine St., and used until 1928 when the handsome new church was built at the corner of Pine Street and South Long Beach Avenue. This building is...
    • Golf Clubs, Garden City Golf Club

    • Golf Clubs; Garden City Golf Club
    • Garden City Golf Club on Cherry Valley Ave. facing S, with extension on west side. The club was started in 1897 as the Island Golf Links and became the Garden City Golf Club in 1899. Undivided back with name and date, unused
    • Freeport Schools, Freeport, New York

    • Schools; Schools buildings; Grove Street School--Freeport (N.Y.)
    • Black and white postcard of the Grove Street School. This building was completed in 1905 and was added to several times. This view was taken from the corner of Pine Street. Postmark: "Freeport, N.Y. February 3, 1904" Addressee and Address: "Miss...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK